Forest Industries of Tasmania

Managing Tasmania's private forests to the world's highest standards

Home » Forest Information » Tasmania's Forest Types » Forests

Tasmania's Forest Types


What are Tasmania’s different forest types?

Tasmania has four main forest types used for Timber production – rainforest, wet eucalypt forest (wet sclerophyll), dry eucalypt forest (dry sclerophyll) and plantations.  ‘Schlerophyll’ is a term describing plants with hard, waxy covered leaves that are well adapted to limited water supplies.

In areas between rainforest and wet forest, a mixture of species from both forest types is often present in the forest transition.  This is typically a eucalypt forest with a rich rainforest understorey.  This is known as a mixed forest.

Different types of forest develop in different areas over time.  Sometimes the forest type in an area changes as the environment changes over time, and forest types may also change as the forest ages.

For Example:  A mixed forest cannot regenerate without a disturbance such as fire.  If no disturbance occurs every 100-300 years, then the eucalypt species within the forest die out and the mixed forest gradually turns into a rainforest.  If fire occurs too frequently in a mixed forest, then the rainforest species in the understorey cannot grow and the forest will change into a wet sclerophyll forest.

In which forest types does tree harvesting occur?

Tree harvesting occurs in both wet and dry eucalypt forest and in plantations.  The forest type determines which harvesting methods will be used, based on scientific research, to achieve the best possible forest regeneration. 

© 2010 The Forest Industries Association of Tasmania

Web Design by  Walker Designs